Three seconds of separation

1 07 2013

Location: Bracklesham
Conditions: F3 Onshore, waves 2ft @ 3 seconds.

This chance to get out in the Briney was met with less than perfect conditions.  The wind has whipped up some waves, but they were close together and fairly weak.  Enough to catch but not much of a ride.  No video this time around as my camera case steamed up almost as soon as I began.  All that I could salvage were a few stills of the conditions:

uvs130706-001

uvs130706-002

Joining me on the water were a couple of surfers, a windsurfer or two, many kites further up the coast in both directions whilst nearby, surprisingly there were quite a few other kayakers!   Some that were getting out just as I arrived were in sit-inside river kayaks, but most were on sit-on-tops of all shapes and sizes.  Some looked like full-blooded sea kayaks from a distance and I only realised what they truly were on closer inspection.

Great to see more kayakers in the water.  Mostly they kept to the shallows, playing in the whitewater, while I stayed further out, attempting to ride the green.  A vague sea mist rolled in at times, blown quickly by the wind, wisps of which would curl and dance up the beach.  So while the waves were not ideal it was, as always, interesting to be out on the water.

-Mut


Actions

Information

2 responses

19 08 2013
andy

Hi,

Thank you for your Blog. I’ve been reading it all day as I’m thinking of buying a Mega Maverick!

Cheers,

Andy

19 08 2013
Mutleyx

Thanks Andy, hope it was of some use. I had a great time with my Maverick, wouldn’t hesitate to recommend.

Leave a comment